Are your stretchy pants too tight?

November 26, 2009

Today is Thanksgiving. A day of thanks and eating ridiculous amounts of food to prove to the world that here in the United States we can afford to eat ourselves into oblivion! Everyone dons their favorite stretchy pants for the occasion so that they can eat and eat and never feel the sting of pants getting snug, or buttons that need to be popped.

Think about this for a minute.

This is disgusting. Am I right?

An old WW leader of mine used to say that his mom made the most amazing Thanksgiving stuffing muffins (I have no idea what they are but they sound amazing) and that every year on the big day he would gorge himself on them. As a means of avoiding this toxic behavior he finally learned to have his mother make them a few times a year – rather than once a year – so that they were no longer a “treat”, no longer something you must eat before it disappears for another 365 days. I always thought this was a tricky maneuver because I would think that if they were available to you MORE often you’d eat more.

Today I’m wearing jeans (not stretchy pants) and trying to pace myself throughout the day. All I’ve had so far is 3 Hershey Kisses and half a plate of ziti. We are about to sit down to some antipasto, which is my favorite part of any holiday meal.

I’m going to be thankful that I have food to eat, family to laugh with and that I have the awareness to take it easy today and stop eating when I’m full. Of course, that’s half the battle.

Have a great day today! Enjoy the food and drink and company, and, as always, thank you for reading.

Leave a comment