Week 23 -It’s the End of the World (as we know it)

November 9, 2016

What a way to finish up this challenge, taking my final photos on election day as emotions and anxieties were running high.  I didn’t have the best week that I thought I would have as I ended this challenge – in fact I had a challenging week.  I succumbed to temptation, laziness, irritability and a roller coaster of emotions (and this was all before Election Day!). What can I say? I get super moody when I have PMS and the last two months have been especially hard.  Maybe it’s because I haven’t been sleeping as well.  Maybe it’s because my will power has faded.  Maybe it’s because I’ve reached a new level and I’m self-sabotaging.  Honestly, it could be all of these things or none of these things.  Some weeks you just gotta keep swimming and hope it all comes together.

It’s also really easy when things don’t go our way to give up on ourselves.  After the late night with the election results, believe me, I didn’t want to go to the gym this morning. But I knew that if I skipped it because of external factors it would set me back and I would regret it.  So I went and I got to work out and get some of the feelings out of my system in a healthy way (read: not through eating a sleeve of cookies).  No matter what the final outcome of this challenge was, I knew that the time I spend working on myself was never going to be something I would regret.  These 23 weeks were going to pass anyway, at least I made them count by staying the course and being true to myself.

I am very proud that I reached a new “lowest weight” since 2010.  I am very proud that I kept my word and wrote and blogged as much as I did.  I am very moved by all of the people who cheered me on and who took on their own “Light Yourself On Fire” challenges. I haven’t really thought about what the future of this challenge will hold for me just yet, but I do know what my goals are for the rest of the year.

Looking forward to 2017 I am excited for my new endeavor, the Parents Passion Project to light the fires under parents to reignite their passions.  Learn more here.

Leave a Reply

