Week 22 – Fight to Stay Alive

November 3, 2016

This begins the final week of my (extended) Light Yourself on Fire Challenge.  November 8th I have to submit the final pictures and weight for my challenge as part of the “maintenance” portion.  I’m so glad that I extended the challenge, because without that I know I would have slipped back into some bad habits.  I took a quiz online that I found (while I was looking for resources about parents and passion) that really gave me some insight about myself, I am an Obliger.

Here’s the description:

Is it easier to spend time or money on someone else instead of on yourself?

Do you sometimes think, “When someone expects something of me, I do it. But, I often have trouble meeting my expectations for myself.”

That’s because you’re an Obliger.

In order to change a habit, Obligers need external accountabilitythat’s the crucial factor for Obligers.

You can take the quiz here and find out what tendencies you have.  I found this so helpful because it gave me a vocabulary to understand why I need so much EXTERNAL ACCOUNTABLITY all the damn time.  It’s like, when no one is watching, I’ll eat a sleeve of Ritz crackers with dairy free chocolate spread, but when someone is watching (i.e. this challenge) I will happily post my weight every week online for all the world to see.  I’ve always wondered, what the F is wrong with me? Turns out, it’s just my “tendencies”. Doesn’t that sound better than me being a crazy lady?

When all is said and done, this challenge will be 23 weeks of my 2016.  That’s nearly half the year.  When I look back on it that way, I can appreciate how much I’ve accomplished and how much I committed to (and actually achieved).  Just to recognize my achievements and then to high-five myself for it is new behavior for me.  Unfortunately I spent a lot of time being so hard on myself over the past 30 years and it doesn’t really serve me anymore.  Sure, it would be easy to say, “oh after 22 weeks you SHOULD HAVE lost more weight, done more workouts, cooked more food, whatever” but does that help me at all?  I’m flipping it around this time.  “Oh after 22 weeks you HAVE done 53 workouts, 24 cleanse days, 22 blogs, numerous video blogs, GO YOU!”  Now that’s something I can take to the bank!

Week 22 Results

Weight: 183.4 **New Lowest Weight!!**  (-13.8 since start, -1.4 change since last week)

Cleanse days completed this week: 2

Workouts: 3

Non-Scale Victory:  File this under #adulting, since I’ve lost so much weight, I re-applied for life insurance and was able to get a better rating!  Which means, I will get lower rates for life insurance since I am considered healthier by their standards!  Since I applied 2 years ago I’ve lost 30lbs!!

What I want to be acknowledged for this week: Cleansing on Halloween!! I didn’t touch one piece of candy you guys, this is huge for me.  Normally I would skim a bunch of fun size items from my kids bucket, but this year I was able to enjoy Halloween without one piece of candy.  I think I may have a new tradition on my hands!

Book I am reading this week: Ugh, still working on this

Song that inspired this week’s title:  Thriller, by Michael Jackson

Bonus Material: Here’s a video of New Body Bootcamp doing Thriller choreography (with me and Dylan!).

Leave a Reply

