Week 17 – Unforgettable

September 29, 2016

img_3918

Marie & Ran at Grandmother Nora’s 90th

I knew this week was going to be a bloodbath! Between getting my period (sorry fellas) and over-indulging in Ritz crackers I predicted yesterday I would be up about 4lbs.  I got on the scale Wednesday morning like I normally do and it was pretty cool when I didn’t go to pieces over the weight on the scale.  I actually just did it matter-of-factly, recorded the weight and moved on!  I got dressed and put on skinny jeans and a button down shirt that used to not fit me, and I felt great walking out the door like that.  Have I finally evolved past my weight on the scale defining me?  Now that’s a non-scale victory!

In this week’s video blog, I spoke about reaching my upper limits with the completion of this challenge.  For me that means, wanting to lay in bed, eat Ritz crackers (apparently) and binge watch The Newsroom.  And, I got a cold literally right after the final weigh-in.  I assume this isn’t a coincidence.  It’s my body breaking down and giving me the reason to go ahead and give up on moving forward.  What is it about our minds that they give up as soon as we step out of our comfort zone?  Don’t forget, last week I reached a lower weight than I have been in 6 years!! That’s a huge step out of the comfort zone and my mind was like “Um yeah NO, MARIE, go back to bed.”

Happy to report my cold is much better and I put a moratorium on Ritz crackers for the time being.  My goal for the rest of this challenge (until my maintenance photos are due in November) is to lose another 5lbs.  This is on target with how I’ve been losing for the last 6 weeks, so it feels very realistic and achievable.

Truly the best part of this challenge has been rediscovering my passions and my hobbies that I’d put on a shelf for so long.  Once upon a time, I was doing theater, singing and being creative.  Once I had kids, I thought that I couldn’t do that anymore.  It took a long time and for me to shed the unwanted weight and feel good about myself for me to put myself out there again.  This weekend I had the pleasure of singing 2 songs at my Grandmother Nora’s 90th Birthday Party and it was a joy.  30lbs ago I wouldn’t have had to confidence to do it. What a shame it would have been if I hadn’t been able to sing for her because I wasn’t feeling myself.  She’s truly an “unforgettable” woman and I wanted to celebrate her without dragging my insecurities into it.

Week 17 Results

Weight: 188.8 (-8.4 since start, +5.2 change since last week)

Cleanse days completed this week: 0

Workouts: 2

Non-Scale Victory:  My weigh-in this week was easy, not because of the weight on the scale, but because I didn’t let it define the kind of day I was going to have, or how I felt about myself.

What I want to be acknowledged for this week:  The new No cheese/no pizza rule I’ve implemented.  Since I gave up dairy back in May I haven’t had one slice of pizza and I’ve only had cheese a few times (on planned in advance cheat days).  This weekend while I was celebrating my Grandmother’s 90th birthday I was faced with a lot of temptations, including both cheese and pizza.  I decided that I’d implement this rule (even on cheat days) because I know they are trigger foods for me and can only lead to trouble.

Book I am reading this week: Love Louder, by Preston Smiles

Leave a Reply

