Week 15 – Stars 4-Ever

September 15, 2016

img_3831

Proud of how my midsection looks after 2 kids and several stretchmarks

Anyone with a 5 year old knows that when they find something they like, they play it to death.  So Dylan found the song “Stars 4-Ever” on my phone a few weeks ago, and it has been our non-stop playlist along with the ever present “Party Rock” for weeks.  He really loves this jam!

I’ve been bopping around the house singing the chorus, “You and Me Together, Stars 4 Ever! for weeks.  This week, after doing my video blog post about how the community provided me with such strong accountability that I wouldn’t give up, I realized – “you and me together, stars forever!”  It was exactly how I felt about this challenge.  As a community we have all achieved new outcomes and supported each other to reach our goals.  It’s when I realized that this challenge wasn’t just about ME getting fit, but was about how I can inspire others to achieve their dreams that I really started to get serious.  That’s why I became a health coach, was to inspire others.  For me, when I am feeling down about myself, I forget that it’s not just about me.  It’s so easy to go into pity-party mode with a pile of pad thai on my lap and chopsticks in hand.  When that happens now, as I’m sure it will in the future happen again, I will remind myself to LIGHT YOURSELF ON FIRE!! And get over myself!

Another big shift for me during this challenge has been on dealing with my fear of “looking good”. (See above picture of my stretch marks!)  For all my life, I’ve been way too consumed with “how it looks” or “looking good” or just NOT looking bad.  When my kid wants some sugary crap from the store to take to school I say, “No! I can’t have the teacher seeing you eat that!”  I’m not worried about him having the occasional Oreo cookie, I’m afraid of HOW IT LOOKS.  See what I mean?

How about this one, “I have to buy a one piece bathing suit, because what would people say if they saw my stretch marks on display at the beach?”

Or, “I’d better not order the cheat meal I want in front of my friends, because it will look bad since I’m a health coach.”

Or, “I’d better get my kid a new backpack for school, so he doesn’t look like the only kid who didn’t get one (even though his old one is fine!)”

I am doing it constantly! And guess what, it’s exhausting and inauthentic.

That’s why when I started the challenge I decided I would publish my deepest darkest secret every week, my weight on the scale.  It has been easy some weeks, fun others, and horrifying a few times.  But I’m human AF, and I am not doing this to “look good”, I’m doing this to transform.

marie-at-bbjj

I took a Kickboxing Class with a bunch of strangers

As a result, I’ve tried new things this challenge like kickboxing, working out in the park, and posting pictures of myself that I wouldn’t normally TAKE let alone SHARE.  Because why not?  What if the one picture of my stretch marks inspires another mother to show hers and to CELEBRATE IT?!?! Instead of feeling ashamed (like I always have).

I am excited for the final week of the challenge to share with you all the transformations that have taken place in my circle of influence from some of my closest friends and family. Extraordinary things can happen in 16 weeks!  If you’re ready to join us for the next one, please email or FB me!

Week 15 Results

Weight: 185 (-11.8 since start, -0.6 change since last week)

Cleanse days completed this week: 2 (16 total for the challenge)

Workouts: 3 (39 total for the challenge)

Non-Scale Victory:  Pulled on a pair of jeans I got towards the end of Spring that I haven’t worn all summer and wore them out.  They fit great (better than ever actually) and I got a compliment from my neighbor who saw me walking from down the block and said he “didn’t recognize me, [he] thought I was some young mother!”  I told him thank you and I am still young at 35, aren’t I? LOL.  My hubby also asked me where I got the “new jeans”, so I guess they must look totally different now!

What I want to be acknowledged for this week:  This week I had to come to terms with the fact that the challenge is ending and there’s still a lot of goals I haven’t accomplished.  At first I wanted to be tough on myself, but then I realized that without this challenge, I wasn’t going to make this progress.  Sure, I’d have done some cleanse days and gotten to the gym, but not without the same commitment to myself. I accepted my challenge for what is it, instead of beating myself up over what it wasn’t.

Book I am reading this week: Love Louder, by Preston Smiles

This week’s title inspired by: Stars 4-Ever, by Robyn

Leave a Reply

