Week 14: Heroes

September 11, 2016

Posted by Ran Isner


Today marks the 15th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks on the world trade center, the pentagon and flight 93. I was in NYC at the time of the attacks and even though I was merely a visitor and had no idea that one day I would actually live here, I considered myself a New Yorker. My life would forever be interwoven with this city no matter what.

I have been living in this city for 12 years now, got married and started a family and I am proud to say that I am a New Yorker through and through. I have seen this city rise from the ashes through acts of kindness and love, the human spirit triumphed over hate and this city pressed on.

This day has alway had a special significance to me and I believe that it should be solely dedicated to remembering the men and woman who lost their lives on that day and the firefighters and police officers who died while doing their job. I didn’t know any of them but I still felt like I knew them all.

My friend Kerri lost her brother Michale 15 years ago. Only two days prior Michale completed the town of Hempstead’s Triathlon and that was the last time his family saw him. He died in the towers and his body was never recovered.

15 years later Kerri decided that in his honor she will also complete that same triathlon that Michael participated in. She trained for months and put her heart and soul into every training session, knowing that Michael was right there beside her. Kerri has Multiple Sclerosis, but she refused to let that be an excuse to not train her hardest or quit.

I am proud to say that she finished 3rd in her age group.

Heroes come in all shapes and sizes. Michael is Kerri’s hero because he knew that by going in to the towers, there was a chance that he was not coming out of there alive but he went in any way. Kerri is my hero because she does not let her disease define her and she is ferociously determined to achieve the goals she set for herself.

As a witness to her journey, Kerri inspired me to push myself and work tirelessly towards achieving my goals and through her hard work and dedication she taught me that no dream is too big and that anything is possible.

We will never forget!

Michael Kiefer

Michael ‘s last Triathlon

Kerri Kiefer-Viverito after completing the triathlon



Week 14 results:

Weight: 153.8( -2.4 since last week, -2.9 since start)

Cleanse days: 2

Workouts: 3( 2 Jiu Jitsu, 1 Kickboxing)

Book I am Reading: The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks

What I would like to be acknowledged for this week:

I went with my wife to the last session in the seminar she’s assisting in at Landmark Education and we sang a song together, the chords for which I learned the same day. Yay me!

Leave a Reply

