We Have a Glass (not empty, not full)

August 31, 2016

Love Louder gratitude quote
Today’s quote from Preston Smiles was all about practicing gratitude in tough times. As a business owner, everyday there are new challenges – whether its my clients, teammates, kids, colleagues, fellow human beings, whoever! There’s always wall kicking moments.
 
But I can’t afford to let those wall kicking moments turn into a pasta/chocolate fest on the couch in front of Mad Men reruns (anyone else do that?) Because I have too much do achieve in this life and too many people looking to me for leadership. I have so many goals to achieve that I literally can’t lose a day to feeling sorry for myself. And believe me, I have lost plenty of days in the past 35 years doing just that. We call it “being in a funk” or “feeling out of sorts” or just being “in a bad mood.” It happens all the time, and we are so used to it as a society that we just accept it and assume it will pass. Or we act out in order to make the pain stop.
 
The only way I knew to get out of it before was to literally NUMB the pain with TV and FOOD. That was my only coping mechanism. Which means, I know the exact moment that Pete Campbell confesses his love to Peggy Olson on Mad Men, and that I’ve lost the same 20lbs 3x in my life. But it also means I haven’t achieved my weight/money/life goals yet.
 
So today, when I received some crappy news (nothing major, just annoying crappy stuff), and I felt the funk coming on I flipped a switch in my brain.
 
“What are 3 things you are grateful for in this moment?”
 
Despite the crappy news, despite people letting me down, being predictable, and generally not having integrity – What. Can You. Be. Grateful. For. Marie?
 
-my daughter singing Twinkle Twinkle to me today
-the very challenges I am pissed off about now are giving me an opportunity to grow
-incorporating music back into my life as part of a new chorus in my neighborhood
 
There’s tons of other stuff too, but 3 things seems manageable right now.
 
When you’re feeling the funk coming on, try it. Just stop and write down 3 things you are grateful for, and somehow it seems easier to deal with. If you can master this skill, then even when really horrible shit happens you can still find a ray of sunshine through the darkness. And that’s gonna come in handy someday, I can feel it.
One Response to “We Have a Glass (not empty, not full)”

  1. […] Earlier this week I wrote a post about gratitude.  It’s easy when everything is going well, it becomes a real skill when you can do it when things are really shitty around you. […]

Leave a Reply

