Pledge Of Allegiance

August 24, 2016

Posted by Ran Isner

A little over 11 years ago I moved to the US to study acting. After my freshmen year I met my wife and 4 years later we got married. All my life people told me that I should live in America because I know everything there is to know about American pop culture that i might as well be American.

One never knows where life will take them and my life happened to bring me here. I believe wholeheartedly that I was meant to come here so I could meet my amazing wife. I was meant to be on this journey that brought me here and has me writing these words. With her I feel that I am right where I need to be, and we have two beautiful children which further affirms my belief.

Not too long ago I started my naturalization process and by the end of this process I will be an American citizen. I like to keep myself up to date on what happens in this country and basically be well informed. The way I see it is, if I live here I might as well have a say in where this country is headed.

This decision was not a difficult one to make. My life is here, my family is here and this is where I want to be. I’m not saying I don’t miss Israel, I do, and I think that I sometimes block those emotions from coming out because I feel guilty. I feel that I haven’t been in touch with my Israeli self and that includes introducing Israel and it’s customs to my children. I have wanted to assimilate so much to make it easy on myself that I have been neglecting my roots. As I am writing these words I am getting very emotional because I don;t want to feel that guilt anymore. The fact that I am becoming an Amrican doesn’t mean that I must forget where I came from.

Today I went to the USCIS processing center for my biometrics. That means that They took my fingerprints, a photo and my signature for record keeping. I realized that that’s the signature is going to be on my passport eventually! It wasn’t after I left there that I really understood the magnitude of it all. At the naturalization ceremony, you pledge to renounce your allegiance to any other country and as I was reading those words I felt a pinch. At that moment, when I let it sink in, it felt like I had given something up right then and there. Fun fact! Israel is one of the only countries that the US allows it’s citizens keep their citizenship thus becoming a dual citizen.

I am very grateful to be in the position I’m in and I am not taking it for granted. I know that I have exhibited some upper limit symptoms this week because I have been off my routine and have been allowing myself to take my eyes off the prize. This is a great thing that’s happening yet my mind and my ego are so afraid of change that they convince me that I shouldn’t be this happy.

Another thing I am grateful for? This blog. This medium a gives me the opportunity to let things out. It allows me to be present, raw and real and be who I really am. No masks, not stories, only truth.

Thank you all for taking the time to read this, I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

