Are you serious? Or curious?

August 17, 2016

Posted by Ran Isner

Are you serious? Or curious?

Have you ever been asked this question? This question is something we ask prospective coaching clients in our nutritional cleansing business. I’ve heard that question mentioned many times but I don’t think I’ve ever taken the time to understand what that question really means.

I know this about myself. I have followed through on very little in my life. To be fair, the things I’ve followed through on were pretty huge. I was a top gymnast, I moved to the US when I was 25, I graduated College with honors, I married the woman of my dreams and had two beautiful children with her and we bought an apartment. Pretty impressive right? I know it is, but the trick is to follow through on the little things that are not quite as life  changing at first.

What I mean by that is that I was lacking integrity. My word wasn’t worth much because I kept making promises and never making good on them. I’m talking about housework and things to do with the household. I would promise I would take care of things and forget to actually take care of them, you know, the everyday kind of stuff.  It hurt me in my professional life and even more severely in my personal life. My marriage was on the line because my word was worth nothing and my wife felt that she couldn’t count on me to be there for her and our children if I was not being my word. That was both my rock bottom and my wake up call.

Going to therapy and working on my own personal development has helped me grow as a person, husband, father and fellow human being but I needed that jolt to help me face who I was being in the world. I was a man without a word. I wasn’t serious, hell I wasn’t even curious! I was going through life like a zombie, hoping that something will come to me by way of a miracle.

Ever since the event I attended with Marie in Arizona, a monumental shift has happened within me. They say “when the student is ready, the teacher will appear”. I was ready, ready to finally be a man of my word. There are still moments where I catch myself being out of integrity but I no longer beat myself up for it, I acknowledge it and embrace it because that is the only way to grow.

I finally realized that I had to be a man of my word with myself before I was a man of my word with others. I have been letting myself down for so many years but I never gave it any significance because I didn’t love my self enough to realize I matter. Loving myself created a space for me to pursue the things that will propel me forward and that will allow me to create a life by my design and not a life by default. I am creating my own opportunities instead of waiting for them to magically appear.

Being curious is great, it means that you are moving in the right direction but being curious will not get you to where you want to be. Being curious will not ignite the fire you require to take it to your next level, whatever that may be for you.

For the longest time I didn’t do anything with my business but I had this vision of freedom and abundance that I hoped I would attain one day. To quote a famous line from “Gone With The Wind”, “wishin’ ain’t gettin’!” How will I ever achieve the freedom and abundance I desire if I don’t become serious about what it is I want to achieve?

For the first time ever in my life I am ready to put in the work required for me to pursue and achieve my goals. I am coachable, open to new experiences, creating new healthy habits, ridding my life of chaos( I am actually working with a schedule now!) but most importantly, I am being a man of my word.

So tell me, are you ready to get serious about your life? or are you content with being curious?

Leave a Reply

