Week 6: I Got My Swagger Back!

July 17, 2016

Posted By Ran Isner


 The thing about swagger is that when it resides in you, you feel unstoppable and your self confidence shoots to the sky and it damn sure feels good!
For such a long time I felt like I wasn’t anything special and that i didn’t deserve happiness, success or love for that matter. I felt like I had no power and that I had given it away to other people. I didn’t know what my truth is and what it is I  was put on this earth to do.
In the past six weeks I’ve created some new healthy habits but am also struggling to let go of old ones. I started exercising and taking Jiu Jitsu but I still find myself eating out of boredom and as a reward for things I did. The instant gratification in food is something that is very easy for me to tap into because it has been a crutch for a very long time but it has not served me in the long run. At some point in my early 30’s my Cholesterol came back a little too high and that was a wake up call to me. It hasn’t gone back up since but I refuse to be in that place again.

 

I am emotional writing all of this down because I forgot how good this felt! This unwavering, unmessable truth in myself that I no longer have to defend is a product of this journey I have been on for the past 3 years and these past six weeks in particular. I know I am on the right path and that the story that I write from now on is one of progress and setbacks, of love and gratitude but most of all it will be a story of acceptance of myself and the people who will cross my path.

I got my swagger back Ya’ll!

Week 6 Results:

Weight: 157.4( +3.2 since last week, +0.7 since beginning)

Workouts: 2(Jiu Jitsu)

Book I am reading: The big Leap by Gay Hendricks

What I want to be to be acknowledged for this week:

Loving myself, warts and all.

 

One Response to “Week 6: I Got My Swagger Back!”

  1. Congrats on your progress. I have been through a similar journey the past year to get in shape and get my swagger back. Keep on keeping on!

Leave a Reply

