Week 5 – It Don’t Come Easy

July 7, 2016

IMG_2750

Week 5, Gym Selfie

“You look so slim!”

“You look great, Marie, keep it up.”

“I have been reading your posts every week and it keeps me motivated!”

“You should write for a magazine!”

These are just some of the compliments I received this weekend – okay ALL of them came from family members, but whatever!  I was so pleased people are starting to notice my hard work and the Light Yourself on Fire challenge.

And then, I got on the scale.  Whomp, whomp. 189.8.  It was such a downer.  ALL THAT HARD WORK FOR 1/2 a pound.  I think I actually said out loud to my scale “F you”.  I tried to shake it off, but man was I disappointed.  I felt like a failure about my own challenge.  And then, I went through all 5 stages of grief.

Denial – this scale can’t be right.

Anger – I hate this stupid scale and this stupid bathroom and this stupid body I have to live in.

Bargaining – If I could please just get down to 185 I would never lose my temper again with my children and never punish my body with junk food.

Depression – I am never going to lose this weight.

and Acceptance…I think I might still be working on that one.

So here’s the deal.  I remember 2008, the year I lost 23lbs on weight watchers and it was a painstaking journey of losing .2, .4, maybe 1 pound when you were lucky and then sometimes you’d gain and really want to throw in the towel.  But back then I was counting my points but I wasn’t armed with the knowledge I have now about cleansing and net carbs etc.  I thought now it would be easier, not harder.  Yes I realize I am 8 years older (is that math right? geez). But even still, why is it not happening faster????

I’ve tried in the past week 2 different cleanse days and both were failures.  That’s not common for me but it does happen from time to time. At this point, I’ve made a decision that I’m pretty much done with cleanse days for now.  I committed to 16 during this challenge and as of right now I’ve done 5.  I don’t know if I’ll change my mind from now till September, but that’s where I’m at.  I’m committed right now to healing my gut and maybe the best thing is to focus on that and not the weight loss.  It will come, I keep telling myself, if I build it, it will come.

Week 5 Results

Weight: 189.8 (-7.4 since start, -.4 change since last week)

Workouts: 4 (12 total since start)

Cleanse days completed this week: 0 (5 total for the challenge)

Non-Scale Victory: Wearing a bathing suit in front of my whole family and feeling good about it!

What I want to be acknowledged for this week:  I went to 3 parties/bbqs and managed to make it out alive! No dairy and no gluten!

Book I completed this week: Shoe Dog, by Phil Knight the creator of Nike

This week’s title inspired by: It Don’t Come Easy, by Ringo Starr

Leave a Reply

