Week 3 – Big Shot

June 23, 2016

As I was contemplating starting this entry yesterday, I thought, “I won’t know what to say until I see how much weight I’ve lost/gained”.  I realized then, that defeats the whole purpose of taking this on as a holistic challenge.  It’s not just about the weight, is it Marie?

So, yes, I am up this week. But I’m really pleased actually, because this week I didn’t cleanse at all so I know that it’s normal to rebound by 1lbs or so.  In the past, I’ve used cleansing unwisely as a way to “correct” bad eating over a weekend or after a night out.  But that was never really the point of cleansing or a good idea.  If you’re gonna go out and eat nachos and pizza then you’re cleanse day is gonna be hella rough.  Plus you’ll never lose weight that way, you’ll just maintain – IF you’re lucky.  Cleansing is meant to be part of a healthy lifestyle, not a quick fix.

Plus last week I’d reclaimed my lowest weight since giving birth to Daphne, so I was walking tall and with a little big shot swagger.  Previously, I would self sabotage at this point because I’d be filled with cockiness and feeling so proud of my 189lbs.  I’m proud to say this time, I didn’t go overboard and I truly stayed the course.

I also really got into my workouts this week making it a priority to  do 3 for the week.  I spend 3 days in a row at boot camp and it was great.  I definitely struggled a bit at first after not being there for 10 days, but by class 3 I was back in the groove.  No doubt my bullet journal is helping in this area since I get to mark off each workout on a chart.  My inner first grader is excited to add a sticker to my chart!

img_9060

A page from my Bullet Journal tracking Workouts

On Friday night I finally got to see Billy Joel in concert!  I’ve always loved his music ever since “We didn’t start the fire” came out!  I bought us tickets back in December so I’ve been looking forward to it for a long time!  Unbeknownst to me, my husband also bought tickets for a concert in March (with better seats).  When we showed up for the concert in March though we realized we’d had the wrong night and we’d actually missed it!  I was so disappointed!  Ran had an out of body experience when the usher told us the bad news.  But I said, “don’t worry, we’re still going in June!”  It was such a fun concert, Billy sounded amazing and he played all my favorites.  I’m so glad we were able to experience it!

 

My Old Navy Size 16 jeans from right after giving birth are finally going in the recycle bin!

 

IMG_9031

All the Size 16/14 pants going buh-bye!

Another thanks to my bullet journal, I wrote down last weekend the task of “putting away the winter clothes”, which also meant “taking out the summer clothes”.  It was a proud moment for me when I went through many items from summer 2013 and was able to purge the too big, keep the items that fit again (!), and create a clearing in my drawers and closet that left me feeling refreshed.  Never underestimate the power of cleaning out your closet, it leads to wonderful feelings!

Week 3 Results

Weight: 190.2 (-7 since start, +1.2 since last week)

Workouts: 3 (Boot camp 3 days in a row!), 5 total since start

Cleanse days completed this week: 0 (4 total for the challenge)

Non-Scale Victory: Ate out at an Italian restaurant, and managed to find something gluten and dairy free and still enjoy it! Plus I didn’t overate just because I paid for the meal (which is something I used to do because I felt guilty about eating out even though I was full already).

What I want to be acknowledged for this week:  Now when I wake up in the morning I don’t go straight for my phone and to check Facebook.  I actually get my morning started without it and I feel so much lighter.  Looking at bad news on line or other negative stuff really gets to me first thing in the morning, and since I’ve stopped doing that I find myself cuddling with my kids more, being less cranky and just enjoying mornings more in general.  I’m gonna keep it up! Plus, I have a less likely chance of dropping my phone in the toilet!! (I went there! LOL)

Book I finished this week: Organize Your Life, by Susan Sly

One Response to “Week 3 – Big Shot”

  1. Sandy Ellen Brower said

    Wow Marie I don’t know how you washed all that weight but you lost more than half a person after looking at those pants that you were showing. How did you do it? Also I have is your husband lose his way as well? I’m very proud of both you and congratulations on the Incredible weight loss

Leave a Reply

