Week 1 – The Devil Within

June 9, 2016

 I am very proud to announce that week 1 of the Light Yourself On Fire challenge is over.  It was a hellish week because no sooner than deciding that I am going to embark on this challenge did I contract food poisoning followed by either more food poisoning or a stomach bug.  In short, I spent 6 days either with fever, chills, nausea and/or diarrhea.  It seemed the devil within me was not happy!  It wasn’t exactly the rockstar way that I wanted to start the challenge, but nothing in life is ever perfect, so I went with it.

It’s been about a month since I started with being dairy and gluten-free and it’s really starting to become second nature.  We had a bbq on Friday night and I was fine not eating a bun with my hot dog and I even found black bean chips at Costco that taste amazing.  I was able to still eat and have fun without feeling like I was missing anything.  My new staples are hummus and avocado to add creaminess since I can’t have cheese.  I am also going to try and make some vegan/gluten free pancakes this week to have on hand for snacks.  Not being able to have eggs is a little tougher, but thankfully there are tons of vegan resources online to draw from.

All in all, I’d say it was a great week (despite being sick) because I managed to get a full 2 day deep cleanse in and lose a whole buncha weight!

Week 1 Results

Weight: 190 (-7.2 since start)

Workouts: 0

Cleanse days completed: 2

Non-Scale Victory: Sang at my family reunion and wore a size 12 skirt and got several compliments on how nice I looked.

Book I’m reading: Organize Your Life, by Susan Sly

What I want to be acknowledged for this week: I want to be acknowledged this week for not giving up when my body was so clearly not in the mood to start a challenge.  Also, for spending time with my husband working on our time management and our goals.

 

 

 

One Response to “Week 1 – The Devil Within”

  1. Kendra Webb said

    So sorry to hear you had food poisoning! that is the worst. Hope you are on the mend now. Just think of it as a really deep cleanse!

Leave a Reply

