Spin Doctoring the End of Summer (to your benefit)

August 31, 2014

Ok, it’s the Sunday of Labor Day Weekend – we are all admittedly a little bummed that summer 2014 is in the books.  Instead of being depressed about it today, I decided to make a list of all the great, wonderful things that I accomplished, experienced and loved this summer.  While we sat in the car (in traffic) on the BQE, Ran and I brainstormed our list.  This shift in our thinking was such a nicer way to spend a rainy Sunday afternoon (in traffic, ugh) than being bummed about the passage of time – which, lets face it – none of us can stop. 

I realized lately that since I’m in the homestretch of my pregnancy, I was starting to get impatient for my new baby to arrive and was wishing late October would just arrive already.  I was “wishing the time away” and I reminded myself of a moment in time back in 1999 when I was a senior in high school.  Senioritis had definitely set in, and I was so excited for graduation, the prom, the summer, college and the rest of my lie to begin that I was wishing time away all over the place!  A girl that I went to school with said to me “Don’t wish the time away, just enjoy what we have left of this year because you can never get this back.”. I don’t remember her name, but I do remember her saying this and what a strong impact it had on me.  When all is said and done, all you have left is the memories so best to be in the moment and in the present as much as possible.  Truth be told, every day is a blessing and none of us are guaranteed tomorrow. 

On our list of “What I’m Grateful for Summer 2014 edition” were all sorts of different entries; (in no particular order)

-We potty trained our son

-We celebrated our fifth wedding anniversary in style and was floored by the outpouring of love from our friends and family

-We roasted marshmallows and made ‘smores with our family and watched fireworks for Fourth of July

-Dylan had a memorable 3rd birthday with lots of fun in the sun

-Marie got to celebrate her birthday surrounded by friends and family and an amazing round of celebrity

-We found out the gender of our baby!

-Dylan experienced his first trip to the Coney Island amusement park and went on rides till midnight!

-We both reached new milestones in our careers

-Marie’s BNI chapter launched

-Marie found out she doesn’t have gestational diabetes with this pregnancy

I love that I have this list preserved for posterity!  Maybe in February when it’s gray and cold, I will look back on it and feel a bit of warmth!  I am very excited for the fall to come and for another list to start to take shape.  One thing that’s great about the fall is that it feels like a new year since so you get a second chance in 2014 to achieve items on your list of resolutions. 

Enjoy one last day of summer tomorrow doing whatever you can to be in the moment and enjoy the ride.

 

Leave a Reply

