The Organic Food Time Machine

July 15, 2013

Image

I love this!  Real food is not what’s filling our supermarket shelves anymore.  That’s why Michael Pollan recommends shopping the perimeter of the store.  That’s where the produce, meat, dairy and “real food” is.  All the packaged stuff is in the center.

Last weekend I got to go back in time while visiting the North Fork of Long Island to see some family. My hostess, Helen, told me “everything out here is organic” because there are so many farms.  She offered to take me to visit some while we were there.

Image

We went to Garden of Eve organic market which had fruits, vegetables, plants, flowers, everything!  I wondered if you could actually do all your grocery shopping here?  I think for many of us it would be a challenge without the packaged goods, but its possible.

We bought items to make a salad: red onion, butter leaf lettuce, cucumbers and tomatoes.  The butter leaf lettuce was actually buttery tasting which made me realize “Oh THAT’S why they call it BUTTER LEAF!”  Duh!! It was the kind of salad that makes you realize salad is really tasty and worth eating.

It just goes to show that the organic really tastes better and basically more like the “real thing”.  I remember the first time I had an organic banana.  It was the best tasting banana I ever had, and I had bought organic by accident I think so I was really surprised!  It just tasted more like a banana than any other banana I’d ever had.

Image

We hit up a few different organic markets including Sang Lee which I’m told is very famous.  Each was a delight for the senses.  I mean, what they heck are those purple beans anyway? How do you cook those?

Image

Marie in an ear of corn

There’s even fun stuff for kids (and me as you can see above) to give it a whimsical touch.

Image

Some markets have animals too!

Image

They also have a really good selection of whole grains.  David Wolfe recommends eating these raw, but I didn’t go that far just yet!

Image

This is what supermarkets should look like!

Image

Don’t you agree?

Image

And then, there was this “Make Your Own Cheese Kit”.  I didn’t buy it, but yeah, let’s make our own cheese.  It reminds me of another thing I’ve heard Michael Pollan say, “Eat as many french fries as you want as long as you make them from scratch (I’m paraphrasing)”.  And it goes back to eat what you can make.  Making french fries is such a hassle that if you only ate them when you made them, you wouldn’t be eating them that often!  That’s how I’m feeling these days. Just make your own food as much as you can.  Then you know what’s in it and how it was prepared.

If you can’t make it to the organic market every week (I wish I could, but I can’t!) buy organic at the supermarket and be assured in knowing every dollar you spend on organic food is a vote for a different food system in this country. For more information on eating organic and finding ways to fit it into your lifestyle check out this blog from last month.

I can’t wait to get back to the North Fork for more shopping and salads!

Leave a Reply

