Getting my money’s worth – Vitamix edition

April 16, 2013

Now that the weather is warmer I crave a cold sweet treat at the end of the day. While watching my beloved QVC over the weekend, I got some new inspiration for desserts using my Vitamix blender. Tonight I experimented with what has to be the easiest recipe.

Vegan Mango “Faux-Yo”
1 cup soy milk
1 cup frozen mango
*makes 4 servings, half recipe to make 2

Add to blender, blend about 1 minute on high setting until 4 mounds form. Enjoy!

I added a tablespoon of semi-sweet chocolate chips on top for added pizzazz. (They happen to be vegan as well).

The texture is more soft (not super hard like ice cream). Perhaps adding a few ice cubes would give you a firmer result. I liked the faux-yo soft though.

I prefer this to buying sorbet or fro-yo because there is no added sugar, chemicals or preservatives. You whip it up and eat it fresh. (It doesn’t make very good leftovers, so best to eat right away). Plus, you can make a different flavor every night since frozen fruit is so convenient to keep on hand.

I can’t wait to try something else tomorrow! Happy blending!

Leave a Reply

