Marie’s Menu 1/22/13

January 22, 2013

My weekly cooking continues as I’ve picked up some days of work outside the home and am worried that I won’t have something healthy for dinner.

This morning while I was home with the little one I cooked up Skinnytaste Pork chops with mushrooms and shallots. I used boneless chops that turned out to be more like pork medallions because its what I had on hand. Served them tonight for dinner for my son and husband.

This evening – after a quick call to my stepdad for advice – I attempted tilapia for the first time. I cut lemon slices, placed the fish on the slices on a baking sheet, salt and peppered them, sprayed them with EVOO using my misto, then topped with 1 tsp whole wheat breadcrumbs. 10 minutes at 350 degrees, then 5 minutes under the broiler on high. It was delightful! The breadcrumbs gave it a nice flavor and texture. The tilapia was perfectly cooked and basically melted in my mouth. I am trying to get more fish into my diet and this was definitely a recipe to keep around. I am taking a leftover piece for lunch tomorrow!

I served the tilapia with organic kale that I sautéed, salad, and half of a sweet potato. It was a great meal. I felt satisfied after, but not stuffed. And I love the idea that I am eating high quality food. It just feels better, you know?

I already got one great fish recipe from a friend via Facebook, but I’d love more – so if you have any please send them my way!

Happy cooking everyone!

@affairwitcheese

Leave a Reply

