3 Cookie Rule

September 12, 2012

Last night and tonight I implemented the 3 cookie rule. You can have 3 cookies and one short glass of 1% milk and that’s it. We all know I could eat an entire sleeve so this is truly an exercise in restraint. 3 cookies is better than no cookies though.

I love the bit Jerry Seinfeld does calling cookies “Chocolate Sons-a-bitches”. He describes a late night encounter with the cookies where you end up losing the battle with chocolate on your face. It makes me recall a similar incident I had last year with Ritz Crackers and Nutella. No cracker was left behind.

So being back on track can mean a lot of things. For me today it meant my overnight oats for breakfast (big success) and only eating half my lunch and brown bagging the rest for tomorrow. It also meant taking one bite of a dessert and then deciding it wasn’t good enough to tempt me and chucking it out. It meant a pre (late) dinner snack of whole wheat bread with light peanut butter.

It wasn’t a perfect day and hell – I didn’t even count points. It’s a start though. And every journey beings with one step – or 3 cookies. Right?

15 weeks till Christmas y’all!

Leave a Reply

