Because Dr Oz Says So

January 13, 2010

I’m not really sure what Dr. Oz’s credentials are or anything, but he’s a doctor so I decided to listen to him.  Dr. Oz was on the Joy Behar Show recently talking about, what else! – how to lose weight!  It’s January and all the commercials on TV are about dieting and losing weight and joining the gym.  Ugh, so repulsive.  Especially the nutri-sytem and Jenny Craig commercials with all that nasty prepared food! No thank you!  But Valerie Bertinelli does look good.

Anyway, Dr Oz said that before dinner you should eat a piece of toast with olive oil on it.  This way you’re not starving when dinner is served and you’ll actually end up eating less calories in the long run.  So, I decided to give it a shot.  Today makes 3 days in a row of my toast and EVOO and I have to say, I’m definitely eating less for dinner and feeling satisfied.  I’m having 2 slices of toasted Weight Watchers multi-grain bread (which you can buy at the grocery store) and 1 teaspoon of EVOO when I get home from work.  It’s great, because they I don’t feel like I have to start making dinner immediately because I’m not starving.  Tonight for dinner I had some pasta with ground beef and vegetables and a serving of a green bean casserole we made last night.  The total was 9 points and I am surprisingly satisfied.  I’m going to keep this up all week and see if it makes a difference at the scale on Monday.

My goal for the week is to journal everyday. “Only journal on the days of the week you want to lose weight.”  So true.

Second goal, save some of my weekly points allowance for the weekend instead of just giving up on the weekend.

Third, lose some friggin’ weight!

Wish me luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

